Current Administration & Immigration

When there is a change in the party controlling the White House, we can expect shifts, rollbacks, and some raveling of existing policies. Action taken since the inauguration of President Donald J. Trump has proven more vigorous than most. This portal has been established to provide readers with links to follow important changes that may affect immigrants, employers of immigrants, or the immigration process.


NewsFlash! Trump Claims He Will Temporarily Suspend Immigration

Updated 21 Apr 2020

President Donald Trump said late Monday night he will sign an executive order temporarily suspending immigration to the United States as the nation battles the health and economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic.  Read more.


COVID-19 and U.S. Immigration

12 Mar 2020

This page on MurthyDotCom indexes everything posted on our website that concerns ways in which U.S. immigration is being impacted by the Coronavirus pandemic and by President Trump’s reaction to it.  Read more.


U.S. Imposes 30-Day Travel Ban on 26 European Countries

12 Mar 2020

On March 11, 2020, President Trump announced a 30-day ban on all travel from the 26 European countries encompassing the Schengen Area, beginning Friday, March 13th. Certain individuals are exempt from the 30-day ban, including U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and their direct family members. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has instructed these individuals to self-quarantine for a 14-day period.  Read more.


New York State Residents Barred from Trusted Traveler Programs

11 Mar 2020

The Trump Administration has banned residents of the state of New York from applying for or renewing enrollment in any trusted traveler program, such as Global Entry. These programs are designed to allow pre-approved and low-risk travelers expedited clearance and entry into the United States.  Read more.


NewsFlash! Public Charge Rule Implemented Nationwide, Effective Immediately

24 Feb 2020

The U.S. Supreme Court has lifted the injunction in Illinois that had prevented the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) from implementing the new public charge rule on residents of that state. The Supreme Court had previously lifted several nationwide injunctions against the rule. Accordingly, the DHS announced that the public charge rule will go into effect today, February 24, 2020, across the entire country.


Liberian Refugees Provided Path to Become LPRs

10 Feb 2020

On December 20, 2019, President Trump signed into law a $738 billion defense appropriation bill and buried near the end of the bill is the Liberian Refugee Immigration Fairness (LRIF) provision. While it initially received little public attention, its unlikely passage was no doubt celebrated by the 4,000 or so Liberians living in the United States who suddenly have been provided with a means of becoming lawful permanent residents (LPRs), or what is commonly referred to as “green card holders.”  Read more.


Travel Restrictions Imposed to Prevent Spread of Coronavirus to U.S.

07 Feb 2020

President Trump has issued a proclamation that bars entry to the United States of most foreign nationals who were physically present in China, not including the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau, within the 14 days immediately prior to arrival in the United States. This travel restriction is designed to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus.  Read more.


Federal Judge Issues Permanent Injunction Against Enforcement of Unlawful Presence Memo for F, J, and M Nonimmigrants

06 Feb 2020

Today, a federal district court judge issued a nationwide permanent injunction against the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) from enforcing the August 9, 2018, policy memorandum by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) that sought to greatly expand the situations in which nonimmigrants in F, J, or M status may begin accruing unlawful presence. The judge also granted summary judgement in favor of the plaintiffs – a group of colleges and universities. Summary judgement is a process by which a court can rule in favor of one party in a case without requiring a full trial.  Read more.


Trump Administration Adding Six Countries to Travel Ban List, Effective 22.Feb.2020

31 Jan 2020

Earlier today, President Trump officially announced that six additional countries are being added to the travel ban list. Under this updated travel ban, nationals of Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania will not be eligible for immigrant visas, beginning February 22, 2020. Nationals of these countries will still be eligible for nonimmigrant visas, however.


USCIS to Implement Public Charge Rule on 24.Feb.2020

31 Jan 2020

On February 24, 2020, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), which includes the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), will begin implementing the public charge rule that was published in the Federal Register in August 2019. This announcement comes following the U.S. Supreme Court decision on January 27, 2020, that lifted the injunctions against the implementation of this rule, which had previously been imposed by several federal courts.  Read more.


NewsFlash! Supreme Court Allows DHS to Enforce Public Charge Rule

27 Jan 2020

Today, the U.S. Supreme Court lifted a nationwide injunction that had prevented the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) from enforcing the public charge rule issued in August 2019. A separate injunction against the rule that applies only in the state of Illinois remains in effect.

It remains to be seen how, or when, the USCIS may begin to implement the public charge rule.


New B-1/B-2 Visa Rules Target Birth and Medical Tourism

24 Jan 2020

Today, the U.S. Department of State (DOS) published a final rule in the Federal Register that aims to prevent women from being issued B-1/B-2 visas for purposes of “birth tourism” – that is, traveling to the United States for the primary purpose of obtaining U.S. citizenship for a child. The rule also creates a number of barriers for B-1/B-2 applicants seeking medical care in the United States.  Read more.


Trump Plans to Add Countries to Travel Ban List

21 Jan 2020

Earlier today, President Trump confirmed reports that he will soon expand the list of countries covered by the travel ban he implemented in September 2017. Few details have been provided, but reports indicate that he is considering imposing certain travel restrictions on foreign nationals from Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (also known as Burma), Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. The current travel ban applies to citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, North Korea, and some government officials from Venezuela.  Read more.


Find 201920182017 entries here.