U.S. Imposes 30-Day Travel Ban on 26 European Countries

On March 11, 2020, President Trump announced a 30-day ban on all travel from the 26 European countries encompassing the Schengen Area, beginning Friday, March 13th. Certain individuals are exempt from the 30-day ban, including U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and their direct family members. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has instructed these individuals to self-quarantine for a 14-day period.

Stakeholders should recognize that the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) has created a fairly volatile travel and immigration environment. For example, the consular section of the U.S. Embassy in Kingston Jamaica was suddenly forced to close when an employee tested positive for the virus. This may become a common occurrence in the coming days and weeks, as COVID-19 continues to spread. Further, there has been intensified screening at airports, and travelers who show symptoms of COVID-19 may be quarantined.


Copyright © 2020, MURTHY LAW FIRM. All Rights Reserved

Disclaimer: The information provided here is of a general nature and may not apply to any specific or particular circumstance. It is not to be construed as legal advice nor presumed indefinitely up to date.