U.S. Imposes Travel Ban on 8 African Countries

In response to the emergence of the Omicron variant of COVID-19, President Biden has signed an executive order banning most travelers from 8 countries in Africa. Effective today, anyone subject to the executive order who has been in any of the following countries within the previous 14 days is not eligible to be issued a U.S. visa or be admitted to the United States:

  • Republic of Botswana
  • Kingdom of Eswatini (i.e., Swaziland)
  • Kingdom of Lesotho
  • Republic of Malawi
  • Republic of Mozambique
  • Republic of Namibia
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Republic of Zimbabwe

The executive order does not apply to U.S. citizens. Further, the following is a partial list of categories of people exempt from the executive order:

  • Lawful permanent residents (LPR)
  • Any noncitizen who is the spouse of a U.S. citizen (USC) or LPR
  • Any noncitizen who is the parent or legal guardian of a USC or LPR, provided that the USC or LPR is unmarried and under the age of 21 years
  • Any noncitizen who is the sibling of a USC or LPR, provided that both are unmarried and under the age of 21 years
  • Any noncitizen who is the child, foster child, or ward of a USC or LPR, or who is a prospective adoptee seeking to enter the United States pursuant to the IR-4 or IH-4 visa classifications
  • Any noncitizen or group of noncitizens whose entry would be in the national interest

This new executive order does not impact the order implemented on November 8, 2021, which requires nearly all travelers to the U.S. to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19. If any new travel restrictions are implemented, or existing ones lifted, the details will be posted on MurthyDotCom.


Copyright © 2021, MURTHY LAW FIRM. All Rights Reserved

Disclaimer: The information provided here is of a general nature and may not apply to any specific or particular circumstance. It is not to be construed as legal advice nor presumed indefinitely up to date.